Olight publishes this guide and makes two of the six lights in it. Olight specs and regular prices come from Olight product pages and user manuals as of September 2026. Other brands' specs, prices and warranty terms come from their own websites, read in September 2026. Every runtime-per-battery and cost figure is our own arithmetic from those published ratings, not a measurement.
⚡ TL;DR
The best headlamp brands for hiking are Petzl, Black Diamond, Nitecore, Fenix and Olight, and each one leads on something different. We compared one hiking model from each on maker specs and written warranties. Our overall pick is the Olight Perun 3: 25 hours at 120 lumens, IP68 and a lifetime warranty on US purchases, though at 150 g it is the heaviest.
This table gives one pick per hiking situation from the best headlamp brands for hiking, using each maker's published ratings and regular US prices in September 2026.
| Situation | Pick | Key specs (maker ratings) | Regular price | Why it wins |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Best overall for long nights and multi-day trips | Olight Perun 3 | 3,000 lm · 160 m · 120 lm for 25 h · 150 g · IP68 | $89.99 | Removable 21700 cell you can swap on the trail, red light, lifetime warranty on US purchases after 2023 |
| Light pack with an AAA backup | Petzl TIKKA CORE | 450 lm · 75 m · 84 g · IPX4 | $62.95 | Runs on its CORE pack or three AAA cells; 5-year lamp guarantee on its product page |
| Wet trails on a budget | Black Diamond Spot 400 | 400 lm · 100 m · 72–86 g · IPX8 | $59.95 | Rated to operate 1.1 m underwater for 30 minutes; three AAA cells included |
| Fewest grams per rated hour | Nitecore NU43 | 1,400 lm · 130 m · 100 lm for 29 h · 116 g with headband · IP68 | Not listed on Nitecore's site | Big built-in cell in a light housing; 24-month warranty because the battery is built in |
| Fog and fast hiking | Fenix HM65R-T V2.0 | 1,600 lm · 170 m · 130 lm for 24 h · 140 g with battery and headband · IP68 | $104.95 | Separate warm white LED for fog; limited lifetime warranty from Fenix Lighting US |
| Chest-height light on a pack strap | Olight Oclip 2 Pro | 530 lm flood · 125 m spot · 75.5 g · IP66 | $54.99 | 115° tilting head on a clip that grips straps up to 14 mm; a partner to a headlamp, not a replacement |
📋 Table of Contents
- 1. What Are the Best Headlamp Brands for Hiking?
- 2. How Do You Compare Headlamp Specs Across Brands?
- 3. Hiking Headlamp Brands Compared: Six Models Side by Side
- 4. Strengths and Weak Spots, Brand by Brand
- 5. How Efficient Is Each Brand? Power Draw and Grams per Rated Hour
- 6. Headbands and Fit: How Each Brand Approaches Comfort
- 7. Button Logic and Lockout: Where Night Mistakes Happen
- 8. Warranty and Service: What Each Brand Covers
- 9. What Are the Most Reliable Headlamp Brands?
- 10. What Is the Best Headlamp for Trekking?
- 11. Which Headlamp Is Better, Fenix or Petzl?
- 12. Common Myths: Big Brand Means Brighter, Same Lumens Means Same Light
- 13. Your Brand-Choice Checklist for Hiking Headlamps
- 14. FAQ
What Are the Best Headlamp Brands for Hiking?
The best headlamp brands for hiking are the ones that publish full ANSI/PLATO FL1 ratings, offer a lockout and a red mode, and put a clear warranty in writing. Petzl, Black Diamond, Nitecore, Fenix and Olight all do. They differ on battery design, weight, water rating and how long the warranty lasts, so match the brand to your hiking pattern.
Two trail failures are worth designing against: a headlamp that turns itself on in the pack and is dead at the trailhead, and one that runs out halfway through a long descent. Both are brand-level design choices, not bad luck. A brand either builds a lockout that is easy to use or it doesn't. It either sells a removable cell or seals the battery inside.
Here is how the five brands line up on the traits hikers argue about most:
- Petzl leans on light weight and its HYBRID CONCEPT, where one headlamp takes either a rechargeable CORE pack or three AAA cells. It publishes a full FL1 table for both power sources.
- Black Diamond builds dual-fuel lights too, and its Spot 400 carries the only IPX8 rating among the lights here that also takes AAA cells.
- Nitecore puts large built-in batteries in light housings. The trade is a shorter warranty on those models and no way to swap a cell on the trail.
- Fenix puts high output and two light colors in a trail-oriented band, and its US distributor offers a limited lifetime warranty.
- Olight pairs high output with long middle modes and a magnetic, removable-light design, and backs US purchases made after 2023 with a lifetime warranty.
You can browse every current Olight model on our headlamps page.
How Do You Compare Headlamp Specs Across Brands?
Compare headlamp specs across brands by checking that each number follows the ANSI/PLATO FL1 standard, then reading lumens, candela, beam distance and runtime together. FL1 defines beam distance as the point where light falls to 0.25 lux and runtime as the time until output drops to 10% of its starting value, so two brands' numbers line up only when both follow it.
Those two definitions come from Streamlight's published summary of the FL1 standard, which describes runtime as the time "until the light output drops to 10% of the initial value." The 10% rule matters on a hike. A headlamp can dim slowly for hours and still count that dim stretch as runtime.
The standard itself has changed. PLATO, the trade group that develops it, announced on February 2, 2026 the publication of ANSI/PLATO FL 1-2025 and called it "the most significant update in the Standard's history." The biggest change is a separate test for turbo and boost modes. According to PLATO's summary of what changed, earlier editions "did not provide a method for testing and reporting performance results for modes lasting less than 30 seconds." PLATO says standard modes keep the existing procedures.
Spec sheets this season still cite older editions. The Perun 3 user manual says its data were measured per ANSI/PLATO FL 1-2019 in Olight's labs, Petzl labels the TIKKA CORE table "as defined by the ANSI/PLATO FL 1 protocol" without a year, and Fenix's spec chart for the HM65R-T V2.0 is headed "ANSI/PLATO FL1" without a year. Until makers move to the 2025 edition, turbo figures from different brands may not share a test method.
Brands also differ in how much of the spec sheet they publish, and that decides how much you can check before you buy. This table records what each maker states for the model in this guide, from its product page, spec chart or user manual.
| Model | FL1 edition named | Peak candela | Weight basis stated | Impact rating | Battery energy |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Olight Perun 3 | FL 1-2019 (user manual) | 6,400 cd | Including battery | 1.5 m (user manual) | 18 Wh (user manual) |
| Olight Oclip 2 Pro | Not stated | 3,906 cd | Including battery | 2.0 m | 2.22 Wh (user manual) |
| Petzl TIKKA CORE | "ANSI/PLATO FL 1", no year | Not listed | Not stated | Not listed | CORE 4.5 Wh |
| Black Diamond Spot 400 | Not stated | Not listed | By battery type (AAA or BD 1500) | Not listed | Not listed |
| Nitecore NU43 | Not stated | 3,800 cd | Bracket and headband included | 2 m | 3,400 mAh, no voltage |
| Fenix HM65R-T V2.0 | "ANSI/PLATO FL1", no year (spec chart) | 7,353 cd | Battery and headband included | 2 m | 3,400 mAh; 3.6 V nominal in its battery table |
Two brands leave out candela, and only Olight and Petzl state battery energy in watt-hours. Where candela is listed, you can run one quick check: the 0.25 lux point falls at 2 × √candela. Fenix's 7,353 cd gives 171.5 m against a listed 170 m, a close match. Nitecore's 3,800 cd gives 123.3 m against a listed 130 m, about 5% apart, which may come from rounding or from two figures measured at different times. Treat that as a question for Nitecore, not a red flag. For the full meaning of each FL1 icon, see our guide to the ANSI FL1 standard.
Hiking Headlamp Brands Compared: Six Models Side by Side
Across the six lights, maximum output runs from 400 lumens (Black Diamond Spot 400) to 3,000 lumens (Olight Perun 3), and listed weight runs from 72 to 150 grams. Three are rated for immersion (IP68 or IPX8), two are rated IP66 or IPX4 for rain, and prices run from $54.99 to $104.95. Nitecore doesn't list a price on its own site.
This table puts every maker rating side by side. "Everyday mode" is the level nearest 100 lumens that each maker publishes.
| Model | Max output | Peak intensity | Beam distance | Everyday mode runtime | Weight (as listed) | Water rating | Power | Regular price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Olight Perun 3 | 3,000 lm | 6,400 cd | 160 m | 120 lm for 25 h | 150 g with battery | IP68 | Removable 21700, 5,000 mAh | $89.99 |
| Petzl TIKKA CORE | 450 lm (350 lm on AAA) | Not listed | 75 m | 100 lm for 7 h + 2 h reserve (12 h + 20 h reserve on AAA) | 84 g | IPX4 | CORE 1,250 mAh or 3 × AAA | $62.95 |
| Black Diamond Spot 400 | 400 lm | Not listed | 100 m | 200 lm for 5 h (AAA) or 8 h (BD 1500) | 86 g (AAA), 72 g (BD 1500) | IPX8 | 3 × AAA included; BD 1500 sold separately | $59.95 |
| Nitecore NU43 | 1,400 lm | 3,800 cd | 130 m | 100 lm for 29 h | 116 g with bracket and headband | IP68 | Built-in 3,400 mAh | Not listed on Nitecore's site |
| Fenix HM65R-T V2.0 | 1,600 lm | 7,353 cd | 170 m | 130 lm for 24 h | 140 g with battery and headband | IP68 (IP66 without port cover) | 18650, 3,400 mAh, or 2 × CR123A | $104.95 |
| Olight Oclip 2 Pro | 530 lm flood, 400 lm spot | 3,906 cd | 125 m | 100 lm flood for 3 h 45 min | 75.5 g with battery | IP66 | 600 mAh, recharged in the light | $54.99 |
Read the weight column with care. Nitecore and Fenix include the headband, Olight states that the Perun 3's figure includes the battery, and Petzl and Black Diamond don't say what their figure includes.
This table shows where every number in this guide comes from and how it was handled, so you can check any figure yourself.
| Data point | Source | Basis | Models covered |
|---|---|---|---|
| Output, beam distance, runtime | Each maker's product page or user manual | Maker ratings, mostly under ANSI/PLATO FL1 | 6 |
| Spec disclosure | Product pages, spec charts, user manuals | What each maker states, recorded as published | 6 |
| Warranty terms | Each brand's warranty page and product page, quoted | Written terms, read September 2026 | 5 brands |
| Lockout and red light | Product pages and user manuals | Official operating instructions | 6 |
| Power draw and grams per rated hour | Maker runtime, battery energy and weight | Our arithmetic, not measured | 6, with 2 that allow only the weight figure |
| Trek coverage with backup power | Maker runtimes for main and backup power | Our arithmetic, not measured | 6 |
| Regular price | Maker US store | Non-sale price, September 2026 | 5 |
Fenix puts its per-level runtimes in a spec chart image on the US product page rather than in the page text. That chart lists white light at 130 lumens for 24 hours and 400 lumens for 12 hours, which matches the "24-hour runtime mode for trail running" Fenix names in its product FAQ.
Strengths and Weak Spots, Brand by Brand
Each brand's strengths follow from one design choice. Olight builds for long runtime and hand-held use, Petzl for light weight and AAA backup, Black Diamond for sealing at a low price, Nitecore for runtime per gram, and Fenix for output and two color temperatures. Each choice also creates a weak spot, which is named below.
Olight Perun 3
The Olight Perun 3 (3,000 lumens, 6,400 candela, 160 m, IP68) is the pick for hikers who stay out after dark for hours or several nights in a row. Olight rates it at 120 lumens for 25 hours, 30 lumens for 89 hours and 5 lumens for 20 days, with red light at 60 lumens for 14 hours or 15 lumens for 70 hours.
Its turbo steps down in stages: Olight lists 3,000~800~600 lumens for 2 + 180 + 30 minutes, and High as 600~120 lumens for 300 + 30 minutes. The light lifts out of the headband and works as a handheld with a magnetic tail, a clip and a lanyard. The removable 21700 cell means you can carry a charged spare, and Olight sells an Olight 21700 5,000 mAh battery for $26.95.
The weak spots are weight and cold. At a listed 150 grams with battery, it is the heaviest light here, and the user manual lists a working temperature of 0–40°C. Olight also warns on the product page that the "Headlamp mounting bracket is METAL - it is expected to scratch the body of the torch if taken in / out repeatedly." If you count grams on a thru-hike, look at the Petzl or Black Diamond below. Olight's other models are on the Perun series headlamps page.
Petzl TIKKA CORE
The Petzl TIKKA CORE (450 lumens, 75 m, IPX4) weighs a listed 84 grams and follows Petzl's HYBRID CONCEPT: it "comes with the CORE rechargeable battery and also works with three AAA/LR03 batteries." Petzl publishes a full FL1 table for each power source, which makes it easy to plan.
On the CORE pack, Petzl rates it at 100 lumens for 7 hours plus 2 hours of reserve, and 7 lumens for 110 hours. On AAA cells, the same 100-lumen level runs 12 hours plus a 20-hour reserve, while maximum output drops from 450 to 350 lumens. Red light runs 60 hours at 2 lumens.
The weak spots are water and the beam. IPX4 is weather resistance, not immersion, and Petzl describes the beam as "Wide," which suits the trail at your feet more than a far switchback. Petzl's brighter models, such as the 625-lumen Actik Core in our best headlamps comparison, reach farther.
Black Diamond Spot 400
The Black Diamond Spot 400 (400 lumens, 100 m, IPX8) costs $59.95 and ships with three AAA cells. Black Diamond says it is "Waterproof-Tested to operate at least 1.1 meters underwater for 30 minutes," which covers a slip at a stream crossing that would worry an IPX4 light.
It is dual-fuel as well: it runs on AAA cells or the BD 1500 rechargeable battery, which Black Diamond sells separately for $24.95. The rechargeable pack changes the numbers. Black Diamond lists 86 grams on AAA and 72 grams on the BD 1500, and 200 lumens for 5 hours on AAA or 8 hours on the BD 1500.
The weak spots are that the rechargeable battery costs extra and that its maximum is the lowest here at 400 lumens. The same IPX8 note also says that "water may enter the battery compartment" if the light is submerged, so dry it out afterward.
Nitecore NU43
The Nitecore NU43 (1,400 lumens, 3,800 candela, 130 m, IP68) packs a built-in 3,400 mAh cell into a 116-gram headlamp, weighed with its bracket and headband. Nitecore rates it at 100 lumens for up to 29 hours and 8 lumens for 165 hours, and it has red light and a 2-meter impact rating.
The weak spot is the sealed battery. You can't carry a spare cell, so a long trip needs a power bank, and Nitecore's warranty table gives lighting products with a built-in battery 24 months, against 60 months for lights without one. Nitecore doesn't list a price on its own site.
Fenix HM65R-T V2.0
The Fenix HM65R-T V2.0 (1,600 lumens, 170 m, IP68) is the brightest competitor here and weighs 140 grams with its battery and headband. It pairs a cool white LED (around 6,500 K) with a warm white LED (around 3,000 K), and Fenix says to "Choose warm light for better penetrating performance in foggy conditions."
It takes Fenix's 3,400 mAh 18650 cell or two CR123A batteries, and Fenix lists 2-meter impact resistance. Its FL1 chart rates white light at 130 lumens for 24 hours and the warm Eco level at 5 lumens for 300 hours. The weak spots are that this model has no red light and that the runtime chart covers the included 18650 cell, not CR123A backups. It also costs the most at $104.95.
Olight Oclip 2 Pro: The Clip-Light Alternative
The Olight Oclip 2 Pro (530-lumen floodlight, 125 m spotlight, IP66) is not a headlamp, and it isn't sold with a head strap. It is a 75.5-gram clip light for a pack shoulder strap. Olight says its clip "grips objects up to 14 mm thick, including collars, straps, and MOLLE webbing," and the head tilts 115° with 360° clip rotation. The Oclip 2 user manual adds a caution for anyone with an implanted heart device: "If you have an ICD or pacemaker, avoid close or prolonged contact with this product to prevent possible interference."
The flood runs 100 lumens for 3 hours 45 minutes and 10 lumens for 25 hours, and red runs 40 lumens for 4 hours or 4 lumens for 27 hours.
The limits are real. The 600 mAh battery is small, it charges in the light by USB-C, MCC cable or dock, and Olight doesn't list a spare cell for it, and the Oclip 2 user manual warns: "Do not immerse the product in water or other liquids, as it will damage the product." For a lighter budget option, the original Olight Oclip (300 lumens, 68 m, IPX5) weighs 30 grams with its battery. Olight lists its $7.99 Oclip Headlamp Strap as compatible with the Oclip Pro, Oclip Pro S and Oclip Ultra only, so neither light here is sold as a strap-mounted headlamp.
How Efficient Is Each Brand? Power Draw and Grams per Rated Hour
Two ratios show how each brand turns battery and weight into trail light: the average power its everyday mode draws, and the grams you carry for each rated hour. The Nitecore NU43 carries the fewest grams per hour at 4.0, the Fenix and Olight Perun 3 follow near 6, and the clip-size Oclip 2 Pro carries the most, based on maker ratings, not measured.
The method takes two divisions. Battery energy in watt-hours divided by rated hours gives the average draw in watts, and the mode's lumens divided by that draw gives lumens per watt. Listed weight divided by rated hours gives grams per hour. Battery energy comes from the makers: Olight lists 18 Wh for the Perun 3's 5,000 mAh, 3.6 V cell and 2.22 Wh for the Oclip 2 Pro, and Petzl lists 4.5 Wh for its CORE pack.
Fenix lists a 3,400 mAh cell and a 3.6 V nominal voltage for 18650 cells in its battery table, which gives 3.4 Ah × 3.6 V = 12.24 Wh. Nitecore lists 3,400 mAh for the NU43's built-in 18650 but no voltage, so we assume the same 3.6 V and 12.24 Wh.
This table shows the arithmetic, based on each maker's rated figures, not measured.
| Model | Everyday mode | Battery energy | Average draw | Lumens per watt | Grams per rated hour |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nitecore NU43 | 100 lm, 29 h | 12.24 Wh (assumed 3.6 V) | 0.42 W | 236.9 | 4.0 (116 g) |
| Fenix HM65R-T V2.0 | 130 lm, 24 h | 12.24 Wh | 0.51 W | 254.9 | 5.8 (140 g) |
| Olight Perun 3 | 120 lm, 25 h | 18 Wh | 0.72 W | 166.7 | 6.0 (150 g) |
| Black Diamond Spot 400 (BD 1500) | 200 lm, 8 h | Not listed | Not possible | Not possible | 9.0 (72 g) |
| Petzl TIKKA CORE (CORE) | 100 lm, 7 h | 4.5 Wh | 0.64 W | 155.6 | 12.0 (84 g) |
| Black Diamond Spot 400 (AAA) | 200 lm, 5 h | Not listed | Not possible | Not possible | 17.2 (86 g) |
| Olight Oclip 2 Pro (flood) | 100 lm, 3 h 45 min | 2.22 Wh | 0.59 W | 168.9 | 20.1 (75.5 g) |
Three things stand out. First, the Perun 3, TIKKA CORE and Oclip 2 Pro all land between 155 and 169 lumens per watt, so their different runtimes come mostly from battery size, not efficiency. Second, the Petzl figure leaves out its 2-hour reserve, which runs at an unlisted lower level.
Third, the two 18650 lights, Fenix at 254.9 and Nitecore at 236.9, sit well above the rest. That doesn't prove they are more efficient. Under FL1, runtime runs until output falls to 10% of the start, so a light that dims gradually can log more rated hours than one that holds a flat level. When one brand's ratio stands apart, look for its runtime graph before you plan a trip around the headline hours.
Grams per hour also rewards the weight basis a maker uses. Nitecore and Fenix say their figures include the headband, while Olight lists the Perun 3 at 150 g including battery without saying whether the band is counted. If it isn't, the Perun 3's figure with its band sits a little above 6.0.
Headbands and Fit: How Each Brand Approaches Comfort
Brands take three approaches to fit: a light, simple band with a slim front unit (Petzl, Black Diamond), a band built around one large built-in battery (Nitecore), and a dial-adjusted sport band (Fenix). Olight's Perun 3 uses a band with a removable light, so the lamp comes off for hand use. The right choice depends on how long you wear it and how much you move.
Petzl gives the most detail about its band. The TIKKA CORE's "Adjustable headband is symmetrical to more easily adjust the fit, plus it's made entirely from recycled materials and can be removed, washed, and replaced." Petzl also lists a spare headband for its TIKKINA, TIKKA and ACTIK models, and says the mounting plate lets you tilt the lamp or "wear it around the neck."
Fenix built the HM65R-T V2.0 around movement. Its "new SPORT fit headband is larger, has an improved rotary adjustment dial for more precise control, and includes a built-in emergency whistle." A dial is easier to adjust with cold hands than a slide buckle, though it adds parts to the band.
Black Diamond describes the Spot 400 as having "a low profile ergonomic and balanced design." Nitecore lists the NU43 at 116 grams with its bracket and headband, which for a built-in 18650 cell is light, but all that battery sits in one housing.
Olight sells replacement bands by model, including a Perun 3 headband for $9.99. The Perun 3 clicks into a metal bracket, which holds it firmly but can scratch the finish over time, as Olight's own warning says.
This table compares what each maker publishes about the band. A blank means the maker doesn't say.
| Model | Band design (maker description) | Replacement band | Off-head use |
|---|---|---|---|
| Olight Perun 3 | Included headband with metal bracket | $9.99 Perun 3 headband | Handheld with magnetic tail, clip, lanyard |
| Petzl TIKKA CORE | Symmetrical, recycled, removable and washable | Listed as a spare part | Tilting plate; can hang around the neck |
| Black Diamond Spot 400 | Low-profile, balanced body | Not listed on the product page | Not listed |
| Nitecore NU43 | Headband and bracket included in 116 g | Not listed on the product page | Not listed |
| Fenix HM65R-T V2.0 | SPORT fit band with rotary dial and whistle | Not listed as a separate accessory | Not listed |
If forehead pressure is what made you shop for a new brand, the band matters more than the logo. Our guide to headlamp comfort explains how weight placement and band width change the feel over a long night.
Button Logic and Lockout: Where Night Mistakes Happen
Most night mistakes happen at the button: a headlamp that switches on inside the pack, a press that jumps to full power in someone's face, or a red mode buried behind white light. Every model here has a lockout, but each brand locks it differently, from a 2-second hold to both buttons held for 3 seconds. Learn yours before the trip.
This table lists the lockout method and red light for each model, taken from each maker's product page or user manual.
| Model | Buttons | Lockout method | Red light |
|---|---|---|---|
| Olight Perun 3 | One large metal side button | With the light off, hold the button about 2 seconds (user manual) | 60 lm for 14 h; 15 lm for 70 h |
| Olight Oclip 2 Pro | Side button plus rotating selector | With the light off, hold the side button more than 2 seconds (user manual) | 40 lm for 4 h; 4 lm for 27 h |
| Petzl TIKKA CORE | One button | LOCK function (product page) | 2 lm for 60 h |
| Black Diamond Spot 400 | Two buttons | "Patented digital lockout feature" | Yes, dimmable; output not listed |
| Nitecore NU43 | Two buttons, different shape and feel | Hold MODE and Power together | Yes; output not listed |
| Fenix HM65R-T V2.0 | Two top switches | Hold both switches 3 seconds; blinks 4 times to confirm | None; cool and warm white only |
Some details only show up in the fine print. Fenix notes that "When the charging cable is plugged in, the lamp unlocks automatically in switched-off status," so re-lock it after charging from a power bank in your pack. Black Diamond says the Spot 400's red light "activates without cycling through the white mode," which spares your night vision and your partner's.
The Oclip 2 user manual is direct about carrying: "If the product is carried or transported, please lock it." Olight also designed the Perun 3's button so it "is concave to avoid unwanted activation during transit or storage."
Red light is worth the extra step. A National Park Service article on dark adaptation and red flashlights explains that "It only takes a few seconds of bright light" to break down rhodopsin, the pigment behind night vision, and that "a dim red light is best."
Tip: Run a five-minute check in a dark closet before a trip. With the light on your head and your eyes closed, try to: turn it on at the lowest level, switch to red without white first, go up one level, lock it, and unlock it. If any step takes more than two tries, practice it at home or pick a simpler light.
Warranty and Service: What Each Brand Covers
Warranty length varies more between these brands than brightness does. Olight offers a lifetime warranty on products bought after 2023, Fenix Lighting US offers a limited lifetime warranty on lights bought through its network, Petzl lists 5 years on the TIKKA CORE page, Black Diamond gives lighting 3 years, and Nitecore gives 60 or 24 months depending on the battery.
This table quotes or summarizes each brand's written terms as published in September 2026. Where a brand's pages disagree, both versions are shown.
| Brand | Lamp coverage | Battery coverage | Conditions worth knowing |
|---|---|---|---|
| Olight | Lifetime warranty for flashlights, weapon lights and lanterns | Built-in rechargeable batteries: lifetime; batteries that fail from "ordinary usage, aging, or natural capacity decline" excluded | "(Products purchased after 2023 are only eligible.)"; clips, holsters, lanyards and tools: no warranty |
| Petzl | 5 years on the TIKKA CORE product page; the general guarantee FAQ says three years | CORE pack: 2 years or 300 charging cycles | Exclusions include "leaking batteries in headlamps" |
| Black Diamond | Lighting products: 3 years | Not listed separately for headlamps | Only for purchases from Black Diamond or an authorized seller in North America; shipping to Black Diamond at your expense |
| Nitecore | 60 months without a built-in battery; 24 months with one | Nitecore IMR/INR batteries sold separately: 3 months | After that, limited lifetime support covers labor, not parts |
| Fenix | Fenix Lighting US: limited lifetime; product FAQ: 5-year free repair | Product FAQ: rechargeable battery 1 year | Fenix Lighting US services lights bought from its site or network; listed other retailers, including Amazon, service their own customers |
The Olight terms come from Olight's lifetime warranty policy, and the Perun 3 user manual likewise says Olight offers "a lifetime warranty in Australia, China, France, Germany, and the USA." Olight lists "Built-in Rechargeable Batteries" under lifetime coverage. The Perun 3's removable 21700 cell isn't named in that table, and the policy excludes batteries that wear out with normal use, so budget for a replacement cell eventually. The same page says return shipping after the first 30 days "may be the customer's responsibility."
The Petzl gap is worth a note. Petzl's guarantee policy FAQ says "Petzl products are guaranteed for three years against any defects in materials or manufacture," while the TIKKA CORE product page lists "Lamp: 5 years, CORE rechargeable battery: 2 years or 300 charging cycles." Keep a screenshot of the product page from the day you buy.
Black Diamond's warranty page lists "Lighting Products" at 3 years and says the warranty "applies only to Products that were purchased from Black Diamond or a Black Diamond authorized seller in North America." Its list of damage not covered includes "Damage from Battery Corrosion," so pull AAA cells before winter storage.
Nitecore's warranty terms split lighting into products "without built-in battery" (60 months) and "with built-in battery" (24 months), so the NU43 falls in the shorter group. After that, "The limited lifetime warranty covers labor costs and maintenance with the exclusion of accessories or replacement parts."
Fenix depends on where you buy. The Fenix Lighting US warranty page says it "offers a lifetime warranty against any defects in material and workmanship for Fenix lights purchased from our website or a retailer within our network." Fenix Lighting's warranty FAQ lists retailers it does not support for warranty service, including Amazon and its affiliates, and tells those buyers to contact the seller directly. The warranty page adds that "no matter who you purchase from, your Fenix product will have the same excellent warranty," so the difference is who handles the claim. The product FAQ, on both the US page and Fenix's global product page, describes a "5-year free repair" with "rechargeable battery: 1 year."
Battery terms decide what a worn-out battery costs you. This table shows what a replacement pack costs as a share of the lamp, using regular prices from each maker's store.
| Model | Lamp price | Replacement battery | Battery price | Share of lamp price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Olight Perun 3 | $89.99 | Olight 21700, 5,000 mAh | $26.95 | 29.9% |
| Black Diamond Spot 400 | $59.95 | BD 1500 | $24.95 | 41.6% |
| Petzl TIKKA CORE | $62.95 | CORE | $34.95 | 55.5% |
| Nitecore NU43 | Not listed on Nitecore's site | Built in | Not applicable | Covered for 24 months as a built-in-battery light |
| Olight Oclip 2 Pro | $54.99 | No spare cell listed by Olight | Not applicable | Charged in the light |
Petzl's cycle limit is easy to plan around. If you charge the CORE once a week all year, 300 cycles last 300 ÷ 52 ≈ 5.8 years; at twice a month, about 11.5 years. Either way, the 2-year limit arrives first, based on Petzl's rated figures, not measured.
The Federal Trade Commission's guide to warranties gives the one habit that makes every term above usable: "Save your product receipt with the warranty." It also notes that "sometimes you'll have to return a product registration card first to qualify for warranty service."
Note: Buy from the brand's own store or an authorized dealer. Black Diamond limits its warranty to authorized North American sellers, Nitecore charges shipping and a service fee for lights from unauthorized sellers, and Fenix Lighting US sends buyers from some retailers back to that seller for service.
What Are the Most Reliable Headlamp Brands?
The most reliable headlamp brands are the ones whose reliability you can verify in writing: Petzl, Black Diamond, Nitecore, Fenix and Olight all publish FL1 ratings, IP ratings and a written warranty. Reliability on a hike comes down to sealing, a lockout that prevents dead batteries, a power backup, and service if something fails. No brand leads on all four.
Sealing favors the immersion-rated lights. The Olight Perun 3, Nitecore NU43 and Fenix HM65R-T V2.0 are rated IP68, and the Black Diamond Spot 400 is IPX8. Fenix adds a caveat worth copying to every brand: with the port cover in place the HM65R-T V2.0 is IP68, and "Without the port cover it is IP66." Close the charging cover before a rainy hike.
Power backup favors Petzl and Black Diamond, whose dual-fuel lights run on AAA cells you can buy almost anywhere, and the Olight Perun 3 and Fenix, whose removable cells can be swapped for a charged spare. Nitecore's NU43 needs a power bank instead.
Service favors the longest written terms, which here are Olight's lifetime warranty on post-2023 purchases and Fenix Lighting US's limited lifetime warranty through its network.
Impact ratings are published unevenly. Nitecore and Fenix both list 2 meters for these models, and Olight lists 2.0 m for the Oclip 2 Pro. The Perun 3's product page omits the figure, but its user manual shows a 1.5 m impact rating. Petzl and Black Diamond don't list one for these models.
So "most reliable" depends on your failure risk: a dunk calls for IP68 or IPX8, a dead battery far from an outlet calls for dual-fuel or a removable cell, and a decade of use calls for the longest written warranty.
What Is the Best Headlamp for Trekking?
For trekking, meaning several nights away from an outlet, the best headlamp is one whose everyday mode lasts the whole trip or whose battery you can replace in the field. The Olight Perun 3 fits best here: it is rated for 25 hours at 120 lumens, and one spare 21700 cell raises that to 50 hours, or 16 full three-hour nights.
The National Park Service's 10 Essentials list puts it simply: "Headlamps are the recommended light source because they are hands-free. Be sure to pack extra batteries." How many extra batteries depends on the brand.
Plan a trek at about 3 hours of light a night for camp chores, a pre-dawn start and the last miles in. Each brand's backup is different, so the useful question is how many nights the lamp plus the backup you would carry can cover before you need an outlet. This table adds the rated runtime of the main battery and the backup, then divides by 3 hours, based on each maker's rated figures, not measured.
| Model | Everyday level | Main power | Backup you would carry | Rated hours at that level, main plus backup | Full 3-hour nights |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Olight Perun 3 | 120 lm | 21700 cell, 25 h | Second 21700 cell ($26.95) | 25 + 25 = 50 h | 16 |
| Petzl TIKKA CORE | 100 lm | CORE pack, 7 h | Three AAA cells | 7 + 12 = 19 h, plus 2 h and 20 h reserve at a lower level | 6 |
| Black Diamond Spot 400 | 200 lm | BD 1500, 8 h | Three AAA cells | 8 + 5 = 13 h | 4 |
| Black Diamond Spot 400 | 200 lm | Three AAA cells, 5 h | A second set of three AAA cells | 5 + 5 = 10 h | 3 |
| Fenix HM65R-T V2.0 | 130 lm | 18650 cell, 24 h | Two CR123A cells | 24 h plus an unlisted CR123A runtime | 8 or more |
| Nitecore NU43 | 100 lm | Built-in cell, 29 h | A power bank to recharge | 29 h per full charge | 9 per charge |
| Olight Oclip 2 Pro (flood) | 100 lm | 600 mAh cell, 3 h 45 min | A power bank to recharge | 3.75 h per full charge | 1 per charge |
The Spot 400 figures use its 200-lumen medium mode, because Black Diamond doesn't list a 100-lumen level. The AAA backups are the most flexible, since you can buy them in almost any trail town, while the Perun 3's spare cell gives the most hours for one extra item in the pack. Dropping to lower levels stretches every light further. Black Diamond rates its 6-lumen low at 200 hours on AAA and 225 hours on the BD 1500.
Cold matters on high treks. The Perun 3 manual lists a 0–40°C working range, and the Oclip 2 manual says that "In environments below 0°C (32°F), the white light is limited to Low and Medium modes." Petzl says the CORE pack "Performs well at low temperatures," and lithium AAA cells are another cold-weather option for the dual-fuel lights. If you trek below freezing, keep the light or its battery inside your jacket overnight. Our comparison of rechargeable headlamp vs AAA goes deeper on cold and storage.
Safety note: Tell someone your route and your expected return time, and carry a second light. The NPS 10 Essentials page also advises you to "tell someone where you're going and when to expect you back."
Which Headlamp Is Better, Fenix or Petzl?
Neither brand is better overall. Fenix is the stronger choice if you want high output, a sealed IP68 light, a longer everyday runtime and a lifetime warranty through Fenix Lighting US. Petzl is stronger if you want a lighter lamp, AAA backup and a red light. Compare the Fenix HM65R-T V2.0 and Petzl TIKKA CORE side by side to see the split.
This table compares the two brands' hiking models on the points that usually decide it.
| Point | Fenix HM65R-T V2.0 | Petzl TIKKA CORE |
|---|---|---|
| Max output and beam distance | 1,600 lm, 170 m | 450 lm, 75 m (350 lm, 70 m on AAA) |
| Listed weight | 140 g with battery and headband | 84 g |
| Water rating | IP68 (IP66 without port cover) | IPX4 |
| Backup power | 2 × CR123A | 3 × AAA |
| Everyday runtime | 130 lm for 24 h (FL1 spec chart) | 100 lm for 7 h + 2 h reserve on CORE; 12 h + 20 h reserve on AAA |
| Red light | None | 2 lm for 60 h |
| Written warranty | Limited lifetime (Fenix Lighting US network) | Lamp 5 years on product page; CORE 2 years or 300 cycles |
| Regular price | $104.95 | $62.95 |
The Fenix makes more sense for fast hiking in fog or rain, where its IP68 rating and warm white beam help. The Petzl makes more sense for three-season backpacking, where 56 grams saved (140 − 84) and AAA backup matter more than reach. The weights aren't measured the same way, since Fenix includes the battery and headband and Petzl doesn't say, so treat that gap as approximate.
If you want the Fenix's IP68 sealing and a long everyday mode plus a red light and a handheld mode with a magnetic tail, the Olight Perun 3 covers all four, at 10 grams more than the Fenix's listed weight and with a shorter rated beam (160 m against 170 m).
Common Myths: Big Brand Means Brighter, Same Lumens Means Same Light
Two myths cause most bad brand choices. A well-known brand doesn't guarantee a brighter light, and two headlamps with similar lumens can light a trail very differently. Output depends on the model, and beam shape depends on candela and optics. Check both numbers on every spec sheet instead of trusting the logo.
Myth 1: The famous brand is brighter. Petzl's headlamp range page says it has been "innovating hands-free lighting for over 50 years." Its TIKKA CORE is built for close-range lighting and rated at 450 lumens, while the Nitecore NU43 is rated at 1,400 and the Olight Perun 3 at 3,000. Every brand sells light and heavy models, and output tracks the model's purpose, not the brand's age. Compare models, not reputations.
Myth 2: Same lumens means the same light. The Petzl TIKKA CORE (450 lumens) and Black Diamond Spot 400 (400 lumens) are close in output, but Black Diamond rates its beam at 100 m against Petzl's 75 m. Petzl describes the TIKKA CORE's beam as wide, so it spreads the same light across the ground at your feet instead of reaching down the trail.
Candela per lumen shows the same thing between brands. The Fenix gives 7,353 ÷ 1,600 ≈ 4.6 candela per lumen, the NU43 gives 3,800 ÷ 1,400 ≈ 2.7, and the Perun 3 gives 6,400 ÷ 3,000 ≈ 2.1. The Fenix concentrates the largest share of its output into the center of the beam and the Perun 3 spreads the most across the trail, based on the makers' rated figures, not measured.
Myth 3: A longer max runtime means a longer hike. Fenix lists a 300-hour maximum and Olight a 20-day moonlight mode, but those levels are for sitting in a tent. Plan around the everyday level you will actually walk on.
Warning: Don't plan a hike around turbo. The Perun 3's turbo steps down after 2 minutes and the Oclip 2 Pro's after 1 minute, and PLATO's 2025 revision created a separate short-duration test precisely because turbo figures were hard to compare.
Your Brand-Choice Checklist for Hiking Headlamps
Use this checklist to choose between the best headlamp brands for hiking. Work through it in order, because the first two answers usually settle the brand, and the rest pick the model within it. Each step points to something you can confirm on the maker's own spec sheet or warranty page before you buy.
- Count your nights away from an outlet. One night or less: any light here works. Two nights or more: choose a removable cell (Olight Perun 3, Fenix), dual-fuel AAA (Petzl, Black Diamond) or bring a power bank (Nitecore, Oclip 2 Pro).
- Pick your water risk. Rain only: IPX4 is enough. Stream crossings or paddling: IP68 or IPX8.
- Check the everyday runtime, not the max. Find the level near 100 lumens and multiply by your hours per night.
- Confirm the lockout and red light. Read the method in the manual and practice it in the dark.
- Read the warranty for your model. Note the lamp term, the battery term and where you must buy for coverage.
- Weigh it the same way every time. Check whether the listed weight includes the headband and battery.
- Save the receipt and a screenshot of the product page. The FTC recommends keeping the receipt, and page terms can change.
If you narrow it to Olight, the Perun 3 is the headlamp for long nights, the Oclip 2 Pro is the clip light for a pack strap, and the original Oclip is a 30-gram backup.
FAQ
Changelog
- September 23, 2026: First published.





