Olight makes or sells some of the products discussed here. Olight specs and regular prices come from its US product pages and user manuals as of September 2026; other brands' specs come from their makers. Smoke figures below are model calculations from published ratings and NIST formulas, not measurements.
⚡ TL;DR
A firefighter flashlight is chosen for certification and heat tolerance first and for lumens last. In smoke, extra output mostly lights the smoke between you and the target, so structure-fire crews use thermal imagers to see through it and visible light to work close and to be seen. No Olight light is certified for fire or explosive atmospheres.
Ready.gov's home fires page states the problem plainly: "Fire is DARK! Fire starts bright, but quickly produces black smoke and complete darkness." Yet spec sheets still sell peak lumens, and those numbers say little about a smoke-filled hallway, a 500°F room or a garage full of gasoline vapor. This guide shows the math behind that gap, the standards that govern fire-service lights, and where a consumer light fits.
This table sums up what decides a firefighter flashlight and where to check each point.
| Question | Short answer | What to check |
|---|---|---|
| Do more lumens help in smoke? | Very little. In this model, 36 times the candela adds about 2.8 m of reach in moderate smoke | Where the light sits and what it is for, not peak lumens |
| What lets a light enter a flammable atmosphere? | A hazardous-location certification, such as UL 913 (intrinsically safe) or ANSI/UL 783 | Class, Division, Group and temperature code marked on the light |
| What heat rating applies to fire-service lights? | Makers cite NFPA 1970 (2025 edition), clause 14.2; Streamlight describes it as a 500°F requirement | The maker's written NFPA 1970 statement |
| Who picks duty lights? | The fire department or agency | Your department's approved equipment list |
| Where do Olight lights fit? | Off duty, at the station and for chores away from the hazard zone | Olight lists a 0 to 40 °C working range on the Perun 3 and Marauder Mini 2 |
📋 Table of Contents
- 1. Quick Answer: What Makes a Firefighter Flashlight Different?
- 2. Why Do More Lumens Fail in Smoke?
- 3. Smoke Visibility Light: Why Being Seen Beats Seeing
- 4. Three Jobs, Three Lights: Fire Helmet Light, Right-Angle Light, Box Light
- 5. What Kind of Flashlights Do Firefighters Use?
- 6. Heat: What Happens to Batteries and Housings?
- 7. Thermal Imaging in Structure Fires: Where the Camera Takes Over
- 8. Equipment Certification: When Must a Light Be Intrinsically Safe or Explosion-Proof?
- 9. What Is the Best Flashlight for First Responders?
- 10. Is a 200,000 Lumen Flashlight Legal, and Does It Help in Smoke?
- 11. Common Misconceptions About Firefighter Lights
- 12. This Guide Does Not Replace Any Department's Equipment Rules
- 13. FAQ
Quick Answer: What Makes a Firefighter Flashlight Different?
A firefighter flashlight differs from an everyday light in three ways. It carries a written fire-service or hazardous-location rating instead of a lumen headline. It is built for heat far above the 0 to 40 °C (32 to 104 °F) working range Olight lists for its Perun 3 and Marauder Mini 2. And it rides on the helmet, coat or hip for a specific job, while a thermal imager does the seeing in thick smoke.
That is why fire-service lights look modest on paper. Streamlight's Survivor X right-angle light is rated at 250 lumens, but its product ratings state that the "Flashlight meets 500°F requirements of NFPA 1970-14.2 (2025)" and list "Class I & II, Division 1, Groups A, B, C, D, E, F, G." Those lines, not the lumen figure, are why a department can issue it.
Olight's tactical lights are built for high output, fast switching and everyday carry. None of the Olight product pages or user manuals reviewed for this article lists an intrinsic-safety, explosion-proof or NFPA 1970 rating, so treat every Olight light as a light for use outside the fire and outside flammable atmospheres.
This table defines the numbers that matter in smoke and heat, with typical values and how to judge them.
| Concept | Unit | Typical range | How to judge it |
|---|---|---|---|
| Light extinction coefficient (K) | per meter (m⁻¹) | 0.3 in light smoke to about 11.5 at 1 g/m³ of smoke | Higher K means light fades faster with distance |
| Visibility distance (S) | meters | S = 8 ÷ K for a glowing object, 3 ÷ K for a lit surface | If S for a lit surface is under arm's length, visible light cannot guide you |
| Luminous intensity | candela (cd) | 3,906 cd (Oclip 2 Pro) to 140,000 cd (Marauder Mini 2) | Decides reach in clear air; adds little in smoke |
| Hazardous-location marking | Class, Division, Group, T-code | Class I, Division 1 where flammable gas may exist under normal operating conditions | Must match the classified area; no marking means no entry |
| Ingress protection | IP code | IP54 to IPX8 | Water and dust only; says nothing about heat or gas |
Why Do More Lumens Fail in Smoke?
More lumens fail in smoke because smoke both absorbs light and scatters part of it back toward your eyes. Backscatter adds a glowing veil that grows in step with your output, so a brighter beam brightens the veil as much as the target. In this model, 36 times the candela buys under 3 m.
Start with absorption. An earlier edition of NIST's Fire Dynamics Simulator user guide (NIST SP 1019) states that "the intensity of monochromatic light passing a distance L through smoke is attenuated according to I/I0 = e−KL," where K is the light extinction coefficient. Combine that with the inverse-square law used for flashlight ratings, and a beam's illuminance at distance d becomes E = candela × e^(−K × d) ÷ d².
The table below solves that equation for the distance at which each beam falls to 0.25 lux, the threshold behind ANSI/PLATO FL1 beam distance. The clear-air column is each maker's rated beam distance; the rest are estimates, not measurements.
| Light (rated candela) | Clear air (rated) | K = 0.3 m⁻¹ | K = 1 m⁻¹ | K = 3 m⁻¹ | K = 11.5 m⁻¹ |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Olight Oclip 2 Pro spotlight (3,906 cd) | 125 m | 14.4 m | 6.1 m | 2.6 m | 0.86 m |
| Olight Perun 3 (6,400 cd) | 160 m | 15.5 m | 6.4 m | 2.7 m | 0.90 m |
| Olight Warrior 3S (23,000 cd) | 300 m | 18.6 m | 7.4 m | 3.1 m | 0.99 m |
| Olight Marauder Mini 2 spotlight (140,000 cd) | 750 m | 23.2 m | 8.9 m | 3.6 m | 1.13 m |
| Imalent MS32 (655,000 cd) | 1,618 m | 27.2 m | 10.1 m | 4.0 m | 1.25 m |
In clear air, the Marauder Mini 2 reaches 6 times as far as the Oclip 2 Pro (750 m vs 125 m). At K = 1 m⁻¹ it gains just 2.8 m (8.9 vs 6.1 m) for 35.8 times the candela (140,000 ÷ 3,906). At K = 11.5 m⁻¹, the MS32's 168 times the candela buys 0.39 m. That flattening curve is why peak output stops mattering in smoke.
The K values are not arbitrary. NIST's thermal imaging report, Technical Note 1499 (2008), notes that the hot upper layer in a severe fire can reach "smoke concentrations as high as 1000 °C and 20 g/m3," and that smoke's specific extinction coefficient "is typically on the order of 5 m2/g." At just 1 g/m³, that is an optical density of 5 per meter in base-10 units, or K = 2.303 × 5 = 11.5 m⁻¹.
Note: The model counts only light lost on the way to the target. It ignores the return trip to your eye and the backscatter veil described next, so real distances are shorter.
Backscatter: the veil that grows with your output
Backscatter is the part more lumens can never fix. NIST fire researcher Thomas Cleary, in a paper on video monitoring of smoke, summarizes earlier research by Jin on why visibility drops in smoke: "(1) a reduction in light intensity of the object (sign) and background due to the obscuring smoke, and (2) scattered light off smoke particles from other light sources that reach the subject's eye."
Your own flashlight is one of those "other light sources." Target return and smoke backscatter both scale with output, so doubling lumens doubles glare without improving contrast. Imalent itself says on its MS32 page that the cool white version "may cause more glare in fog, dust, or smoke." Fog follows the same physics, as our guide to the best flashlight for the woods explains.
Smoke Visibility Light: Why Being Seen Beats Seeing
A smoke visibility light works because a glowing object stays visible about 2.7 times farther through smoke than a lit surface. NIST's formula gives visibility as S = C ÷ K, with C = 8 for a light-emitting object and C = 3 for a light-reflecting one. So a small light facing a partner can be seen well after its beam stops showing you anything.
NIST SP 1019 gives "C = 8 for a light-emitting sign and C = 3 for a light-reflecting sign"; the split applies to any light source versus any lit surface.
This table applies that formula at four smoke densities.
| Extinction coefficient K | A lit wall, door or reflective stripe (3 ÷ K) | A glowing light facing you (8 ÷ K) | Extra distance a glowing light is seen |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0.3 m⁻¹ | 10 m | 26.7 m | 16.7 m |
| 1 m⁻¹ | 3 m | 8 m | 5 m |
| 3 m⁻¹ | 1 m | 2.7 m | 1.7 m |
| 11.5 m⁻¹ (1 g/m³ of smoke) | 0.26 m | 0.70 m | 0.44 m |
Two lessons follow. Being seen is the job a small light still does well: 8 ÷ 3 = 2.67, so a glowing light stays visible 2.67 times as far as anything it lights. But at the densities NIST describes in fire rooms, that advantage shrinks to under half a meter. Fire-service standards also cover audible alarms: the NFPA 1970 page title includes "Personal Alert Safety Systems (PASS)."
What about colors and flash patterns? The public NFPA pages reviewed here set no national color code for personal marker lights, so ask your officer before adding a colored or flashing light to your gear.
Three Jobs, Three Lights: Fire Helmet Light, Right-Angle Light, Box Light
Fire-service lighting splits into three jobs. A fire helmet light gives hands-free light where you look, a right-angle light rides on the coat and marks your position, and a box light or lantern is carried by hand for search and scene work. Each is sized for its job, not for peak lumens.
Streamlight's Fire and Rescue line follows the same split: Vantage helmet lights, Survivor right-angle lights, and Vulcan and FireBox lanterns. In Firefighting in Canada, firefighter Mark van der Feyst writes that "every firefighter needs to carry at least one flashlight, if not two of them," and that his pick "is going to be the box light coupled with the right-angled flashlight."
This table compares the three types on published specs and purpose.
| Type | Example and maker ratings | What it is for | Main trade-off |
|---|---|---|---|
| Fire helmet light | Streamlight Vantage II: 350 lumens for 2.25 hours, 135 lumens for 5 hours, one CR123A, 82 to 103 g | Hands-free light where the head points | Sits at eye level; van der Feyst also flags snag risk and glare for people you face |
| Right-angle coat light | Streamlight Survivor X: 250 lumens, 50,000 cd, 447 m, 3.75 hours (rechargeable), 345.86 g | Marking your position with hands free | Aims wherever your torso points |
| Box light or lantern | Streamlight Vulcan and FireBox lanterns | Hand-carried search and scene light | Heavier, and it takes a hand |
The fire helmet light needs one extra note. Streamlight lists its Vantage II helmet light as meeting "requirements of NFPA 1970-14.2 (2025)" and "NFPA 1851 guidance on accessories with MSA Cairns 1010/1044 traditional fire helmets." Approval is tied to a named helmet model; fitting a hard hat or headband is not approval for a fire helmet.
What Kind of Flashlights Do Firefighters Use?
Firefighters use lights their department approves: most often a right-angle light on the coat, a helmet-mounted light, and a larger box light or lantern for search and scene work. Duty models are chosen for fire-service heat ratings and hazardous-location approvals rather than peak lumens; the two Streamlight fire models above are rated at 250 and 350 lumens.
Volunteers buying on their own dime should also buy from the department's list. Our right angle flashlight comparison covers how right-angle designs differ from headlamps and handhelds in everyday use, not fire-service approval.
Heat: What Happens to Batteries and Housings?
Heat separates consumer lights from fire-service lights most sharply. Olight lists a 0 to 40 °C (32 to 104 °F) working range for the Perun 3 and Marauder Mini 2, while NIST's mildest firefighter thermal class allows 100 °C for 25 minutes and its Class III reaches 260 °C (500 °F).
NIST's Technical Note 1474 (January 2006) proposed four thermal classes for firefighters' electronics. It calls Class III "the upper limit for normal operation by a firefighter" and says of Class IV, flashover conditions, that "It is likely that most electronic equipment would fail if under these conditions for any length of time."
This table compares NIST's classes (TN 1474, Table 12) with the published limits of the lights here, from their product pages and manuals.
| Condition or rating | Temperature | Time | Gap above a 40 °C rating |
|---|---|---|---|
| Olight Perun 3 and Marauder Mini 2 working range | 0 to 40 °C (104 °F) | Not stated | Baseline |
| Olight Oclip 2 Pro use limit | Do not use above 60 °C (140 °F) | Not stated | 20 °C |
| TC001 Max working range | -10 to 50 °C (122 °F) | Not stated | 10 °C |
| NIST Thermal Class I | 100 °C (212 °F) | 25 min | 60 °C |
| NIST Thermal Class II | 160 °C (320 °F) | 15 min | 120 °C |
| NIST Thermal Class III | 260 °C (500 °F) | 5 min | 220 °C |
| NIST Thermal Class IV | Over 260 °C (500 °F) | Under 1 min | Over 220 °C |
The 260 °C line is the same 500°F Streamlight cites for NFPA 1970 clause 14.2. NIST notes that the 260 °C criterion "fits nicely with the NFPA 1982 standard for PASS devices" and with "the NFPA 1971 standard for protective ensembles," both now folded into NFPA 1970.
Lithium-ion cells are the weak point. The Oclip 2 user manual says, "Do not place, charge, or use this light in a car or other environment where the temperature may exceed 60°C." The Warrior 3S manual adds: "DO NOT activate turbo mode repeatedly under high temperature to prevent the flashlight body from overheating and hurting the user's hand."
Warning: Do not carry any Olight light into a fire, a hot zone or any area above its rated temperature, and do not leave one on an apparatus dashboard or in a hot vehicle. These ratings are the maker's limits, not suggestions.
Thermal Imaging in Structure Fires: Where the Camera Takes Over
A thermal imaging camera takes over where smoke stops visible light, because it reads long-wave infrared. NIST notes that fire-service imagers "are generally designed to detect radiant thermal energy in the 8 μm – 14 μm spectral range." Fire-service cameras are built to work in heat and water; consumer cameras share the waveband but not the rating.
The product standard for those cameras was NFPA 1801. NFPA's NFPA 1801 page now notes the standard "has been combined into new consolidated Standard NFPA 1930," and the NFPA 1930 page lists a 2025 current edition.
The TC001 Max Thermal Imager, sold through Olight's OSelect line for $309.00 (regular price, September 2026), shows the gap. It shares the 8 to 14 μm range and lists a 256 × 192 sensor, under 40 mK NETD and an object range of -20 to 550 °C. But it is a phone accessory rated IP54, with a 1 m drop rating and a -10 to 50 °C working range, and it makes no NFPA 1801 or 1930 claim. Its manual adds that it "cannot detect heat through transparent materials like glass, acrylic, or water, nor through opaque objects."
That makes it a tool for home and building checks, not a fire-ground camera; our guide to the thermal imager on a budget covers what it can show.
Equipment Certification: When Must a Light Be Intrinsically Safe or Explosion-Proof?
A light needs a hazardous-location approval whenever it enters an area classified for flammable gases, vapors, combustible dust or fibers. OSHA's general industry rules allow only equipment that is intrinsically safe or approved for that location, and approved equipment must be marked with its class, group and temperature rating. An unmarked consumer light, including every Olight light, must stay out.
OSHA's definitions in 29 CFR 1910.399 say "Class I locations are those in which flammable gases or vapors are or may be present in the air in quantities sufficient to produce explosive or ignitable mixtures." Under 29 CFR 1910.307(c)(2)(ii), "Equipment shall be marked to show the class, group, and operating temperature or temperature range, based on operation in a 40-degree C ambient, for which it is approved."
This table lists the standards named in fire-service and hazardous-location light ratings, quoted from the official pages, with where to find each.
| Standard and edition | What the official page says it covers | Where to look it up | What it means for Olight lights |
|---|---|---|---|
| NFPA 1970 (2025 edition) | "a combination of Standards NFPA 1971, NFPA 1975, NFPA 1981, and NFPA 1982": protective ensembles, SCBA and PASS | nfpa.org, NFPA 1970 page, "View Free Access" | No Olight light claims NFPA 1970 compliance |
| NFPA 1930 (2025 edition) | Includes former NFPA 1801, thermal imagers for the fire service | nfpa.org, NFPA 1930 page | TC001 Max makes no NFPA 1801 or 1930 claim |
| ANSI/UL 913, 8th edition (2013, revised May 10, 2022) | Intrinsically safe apparatus "for installation and use in Class I, II, or III, Division 1 hazardous (classified) locations" | ULSE standards catalog, UL 913 scope | No Olight intrinsic-safety listing |
| ANSI/UL 783, 7th edition (February 10, 2025) | "battery-operated flashlights and lanterns for use in hazardous locations, Class I, Division 1, Groups A, B, C and D" and related Class I and II locations | ULSE standards catalog, UL 783 scope | No Olight UL 783 listing |
| UL 1203, 6th edition (2023, revised May 30, 2024) | "explosionproof and dust-ignitionproof electrical equipment for installation and use in hazardous (classified) locations" | ULSE standards catalog, UL 1203 scope | No Olight explosion-proof listing |
| OSHA 29 CFR 1910.307 and 1910.399 | Marking and definitions for hazardous (classified) locations | osha.gov, standard number 1910 | Unmarked lights do not meet the marking rule |
The UL 913 scope defines normal atmospheric conditions as "An ambient temperature of 40°C (104°F)" and "An oxygen concentration not greater than 21 percent by volume." The UL 783 scope excludes explosion-proof designs and points Class I, Division 1 intrinsically safe flashlights to UL 913. The UL 1203 scope covers explosion-proof equipment. An intrinsic-safety rating addresses ignition and a fire-service rating addresses heat; the Survivor X lists both.
Safety note: Olight user manuals and product pages list no intrinsic-safety or explosion-proof certification. Do not use an Olight light in a fuel spill, a gas leak, a paint booth, a grain or dust environment, or any other classified or possibly flammable atmosphere. Follow the equipment rules of your department or employer.
What Is the Best Flashlight for First Responders?
The best flashlight for first responders is the one their agency approves for the hazards they face: for firefighters, a light with an NFPA 1970 statement and a Class and Division rating; for roles outside flammable atmospheres, a durable duty light. For off-duty carry, a rechargeable light with a lockout and published runtimes is the practical choice.
For the off-duty and non-hazard side, this table shows how Olight's lights fit, with official ratings and regular prices.
| Olight light | Official ratings | Regular price (September 2026) | Fits | Does not fit |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Warrior 3S | 2,300 lm, 23,000 cd, 300 m, 176 g, IPX8; Med 200 lumens for 13 hours | $119.95 (Black) | Off-duty carry, the drive home after a night shift | Any fire, hot zone or flammable atmosphere |
| Perun 3 | 3,000 lm, 6,400 cd, 160 m, 150 g, IP68; Med 120 lumens for 25 hours; red 60 lumens for 14 hours | $89.99 (Black) | Station maintenance, outages, training cleanup | A structural fire helmet |
| Marauder Mini 2 | 10,000 lumens flood; spotlight 140,000 cd and 750 m; 465 g, IPX8 | $219.99 (Stonewashed Stars and Stripes) | Wide-area searches outdoors, away from the incident | Smoke, where its reach advantage collapses |
| Oclip 2 Pro | 530 lm flood, 125 m spot, 3,906 cd, 75.5 g, IP66, 2.0 m impact | $54.99 (Tidal Blue) | Clip-on light for dog walks and chores | Wet work; its manual says not to immerse it |
The Olight Warrior 3S tactical flashlight is the strongest off-duty pocket light here. Its two-stage tail switch reaches Turbo with one press, and its manual describes a lockout: "When the flashlight is off, press and hold the side switch (for about 2 seconds) to access the button lockout mode." Its limit: it is a tactical light, not a fire-rated one.
The Olight Perun 3 headlamp covers long, low-output jobs such as station chores. Olight notes the "Headlamp mounting bracket is METAL - it is expected to scratch the body of the torch if taken in / out repeatedly." Do not mount it on a fire helmet.
The Olight Marauder Mini 2 flashlight lists "Search and rescue" among its uses, and its 750 m spotlight earns that outdoors. Its manual says it locks out automatically 10 seconds after it is turned off. Its limit is the smoke table: 8.9 m at K = 1 m⁻¹. For a civilian search outdoors, our guide on how to find a lost pet at night shows how a spot beam and a headlamp split the work.
The Olight Oclip 2 Pro clip light has a 115° head tilt and a clip that grips up to 14 mm. Its manual is direct: "Do not immerse the product in water or other liquids, as it will damage the product." If you clip it to a chest strap or shirt pocket, note its magnet warning: "If you have an ICD or pacemaker, avoid close or prolonged contact with this product to prevent possible interference."
Ready.gov's basic supply kit list includes "Flashlight" and "Whistle (to signal for help)"; Olight's 7 g Titanium Emergency Whistle is $15.99 (regular price, September 2026). If you are sizing lights for a group, our guide to the best headlamp for search and rescue covers published SAR team lists.
Is a 200,000 Lumen Flashlight Legal, and Does It Help in Smoke?
A 200,000 lumen flashlight is sold openly to U.S. buyers; Imalent lists its MS32 at 200,000 lumens. For a firefighter, the better question is whether it helps. It lists no hazardous-location or NFPA 1970 rating, and in this article's model its 655,000 candela reaches 10.1 m at K = 1 m⁻¹, only 2.7 m past a 23,000 cd Warrior 3S.
At 3,096 g with battery, the MS32 is 17.6 times the weight of a Warrior 3S (3,096 ÷ 176) for 28.5 times the candela (655,000 ÷ 23,000), which buys 0.26 m at K = 11.5. For where such a light is appropriate to aim in daily life, see our electrician flashlight guide, and check your state and local rules.
Common Misconceptions About Firefighter Lights
The most common misconception is that brightness solves smoke; in this model it barely moves reach, and backscatter grows with output. Other mix-ups treat water ratings, marketing words or a thermal camera's waveband as if they were fire-service approvals.
This table sets each misconception against the fact and its source.
| Misconception | Fact | Source |
|---|---|---|
| More lumens cut through smoke | Reach of 125 to 750 m in clear air flattens to 6.1 to 8.9 m at K = 1 m⁻¹, and the veil grows with output | NIST SP 1019 formula; NIST Cleary paper; model table above |
| IPX8 or IP68 means safe in a flammable atmosphere | IP codes cover water and dust; hazardous locations need approved, marked equipment | OSHA 29 CFR 1910.307 |
| Intrinsically safe means heat-proof | UL 913 assumes a 40 °C ambient; fire heat is a separate rating | UL 913 scope 1.5 |
| A thermal camera sees through walls and glass | It reads surface temperatures and cannot see through glass, water or opaque objects | TC001 Max user manual |
Tip: When you read any light's spec sheet for a fire-related use, search the page for "NFPA 1970," "Class I, Division 1" and a UL standard number. If none appears, the light is for use outside the fire.
This Guide Does Not Replace Any Department's Equipment Rules
This guide explains physics and standards; it does not tell anyone how to fight a fire or what to carry on duty. Departments choose duty lights, set helmet and accessory rules, and train their crews. If a department rule conflicts with anything here, follow the department.
Use this checklist when you buy or gift a firefighter flashlight or any light for someone in the fire service:
- Ask for the department's approved equipment list and buy from it for anything worn on duty.
- For a fire-service light, look for a written NFPA 1970 (2025 edition) statement and a Class, Division and Group rating on the maker's page.
- For a helmet light, check that the maker names the helmet model it fits, and ask the department before mounting it.
- For a gift or off-duty light, pick a rechargeable model with a lockout, such as the Warrior 3S or Perun 3, and say plainly it is not for duty use.
- At home, follow Ready.gov's escape advice: "Drop down to the floor and crawl low, under any smoke to your exit." A flashlight helps you check an escape route; it is not a reason to go back inside.
FAQ
Changelog
- September 25, 2026: First published.






