Olight makes some of the lights discussed here. Olight specs and regular prices come from its US product pages and user manuals as of September 2026; other brands' specs come from their own product pages. Standard wording comes from the IEC and PLATO. Ratios and scores below are arithmetic from published figures, not measurements.
⚡ TL;DR
IPX7 vs IPX8 vs IP68 comes down to two numbers on the box. IPX7 means a fixed test of temporary immersion up to 1 meter; IPX8 means continuous immersion under depth and time conditions the maker sets; IP68 adds a dust-tight rating to that. Choose by the wettest and dustiest thing you will really do, then read the stated depth and time.
This table sums up IPX7 vs IPX8 vs IP68, with two related codes you will also meet on flashlight spec sheets.
| Code | Dust (first digit) | Water (second digit) | Who sets depth and time | Choose it when |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| IPX7 | Not rated | Temporary immersion, test depth between 0.15 m and 1 m | The standard | Rain, mud and a quick drop you can reach |
| IPX8 | Not rated | Continuous immersion, harsher than IPX7 | The maker, by agreement | Boats, docks and drops you may not reach fast |
| IP68 | Dust-tight | Same as IPX8 | The maker | Water plus sand, grit or fine dust |
| IP67 | Dust-tight | Same as IPX7 | The standard | Dusty work where a short dunk is the worst case |
| IP66 | Dust-tight | Water jets from a 12.5 mm nozzle, not immersion | The standard | Rain and spray only; never underwater |
Most buyers meet these codes at a bad moment: a light that fogged after a canoe trip, or a spec sheet that says IPX8 and nothing else. The confusion comes from reading the code as a single "waterproof score." It is really two separate results, and one of them is often set by the maker. Olight's catalog of flashlights shows the full spread, from IP66 clip lights to IP68 headlamps, so the sections below use real spec lines to show how to read each one.
📋 Table of Contents
- 1. IP Code Quick Reference: How to Read IPX7, IPX8 and IP68
- 2. What Is the Difference Between IPX7, IPX8 and IP68?
- 3. Who Sets the Depth and Time for IPX8? How Makers Declare It
- 4. Olight Water Ratings Model by Model: What the Page and Manual Say
- 5. Is IPX8 Fully Waterproof, Compared With IPX7 and IP68?
- 6. Can I Use My Flashlight in the Rain?
- 7. What Happens If Water Gets Inside a Flashlight?
- 8. How to Choose Between IPX7, IPX8 and IP68: A Four-Question Framework
- 9. Common Misreadings of IP Ratings
- 10. Your Waterproof Rating Action List
- 11. FAQ
IP Code Quick Reference: How to Read IPX7, IPX8 and IP68
An IP code has two digits that answer two different questions. The first digit, 0 to 6, rates protection against solid objects and dust, and an X means no dust rating was claimed. The second digit, 0 to 9, rates protection against water. IPX7, IPX8 and IP68 share the immersion family (7 and 8) and differ only in immersion terms and dust.
The International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) wrote the code in IEC 60529. Its IP ratings page says the first numeral runs "from 0 (no protection) to 6 (no ingress of dust)," and the second "uses a scale from 0 (no protection) to 9 (high-pressure hot water from different angles)." Those two sentences are all the IEC gives away for free; for test conditions, the page points readers to the standard. The current text is IEC 60529:1989+AMD1:1999+AMD2:2013, edition 2.2, per the IEC Webstore listing.
This parameter table shows each quantity behind a flashlight waterproof rating, its unit, the range you will see and how to judge whether it is enough.
| Concept | Unit | Typical range on flashlight spec sheets | How to judge it |
|---|---|---|---|
| Dust digit | 0 to 6, or X | X on most lights; 6 on IP67, IP68 and IP66 lights | Need 6 for sand, drywall dust or desert trails |
| Water digit | 0 to 9 | 4 to 8 | 7 or 8 if the light can go under; 5 or 6 if it faces hoses |
| Immersion depth | meters | 1 m for IPX7; maker-stated for IPX8 or IP68 (2 m to 5 m in the examples below) | Must exceed the deepest water you could drop it in |
| Immersion time | minutes | 30 for IPX7; maker-stated for IPX8 | Must exceed how long retrieval could take |
| FL1 edition | year | 2009, 2019 or 2025 | Tells you which IPX8 method sits behind the figure |
What Is the Difference Between IPX7, IPX8 and IP68?
In IPX7 vs IPX8 vs IP68, IPX7 is a defined test of temporary immersion; IPX8 is a continuous immersion test whose conditions are agreed and must be harsher than IPX7; IP68 is IPX8 plus the dust-tight numeral 6. So IPX8 and IP68 are equal on water unless their stated depths differ, and IP68 wins only on dust.
The clearest official wording is in the clause titles of IEC 60529 edition 2.2, visible in the IEC's own preview of the standard. This standard clause table quotes those titles verbatim and translates each into what you should check.
| Code element | IEC 60529 ed. 2.2 clause title (verbatim) | Fixed by the standard | Left to the maker | What to check on the spec sheet |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Water digit 7 | 14.2.7 "Test for second characteristic numeral 7: temporary immersion between 0,15 m and 1 m" | Depth band and duration | Nothing | Nothing extra; IPX7 means the same test everywhere |
| Water digit 8 | 14.2.8 "Test for second characteristic numeral 8: continuous immersion subject to agreement" | Only that it must be harsher than 7 | Depth, duration, water conditions | A stated depth and time next to the code |
| Dust digit 6 | 13.6 "Special conditions for first characteristic numeral 6" | The dust chamber test | Nothing | Whether the first digit is 6 or X |
| Scope limits | Clause 1 lists "corrosion," "icing" and "moisture (for example, produced by condensation)" among matters for product standards | Nothing about these | Everything | Manual warnings about salt, cold and chemicals |
The duration for IPX7 is in the paid text. Keystone Compliance, an accredited test lab, summarizes it in its immersion testing guide: "IPX7 denotes protection against immersion in water up to 1 meter for 30 minutes, while IPX8 indicates protection against continuous immersion beyond 1 meter depth." For IPX8, Keystone adds, "The test duration is specified by the manufacturer."
Flashlights add one more layer: the ANSI/PLATO FL 1 standard, which borrows these codes. PLATO's summary of FL 1-2025 says earlier editions "specified a fixed four-hour testing duration" for IPX8, while "The revised standard allows testing depth and duration to vary." FL 1-2025 also introduced dust ingress testing and "new icons for dust protection and combined dust and water protection." Our guide to the ANSI FL1 standard covers the editions in detail.
Who Sets the Depth and Time for IPX8? How Makers Declare It
For IPX8 and IP68, the manufacturer sets the depth and time, and a complete spec line prints both. IPX7 needs no extra numbers because the standard fixes them. In practice, flashlight makers declare IPX8 and IP68 very differently, so the useful habit is to score each spec line for completeness before you compare lights.
This declaration check scores real spec lines from makers' own product pages: one point each for the code, a depth and a time. The depth multiple is the stated depth divided by IPX7's 1 m.
| Light (maker's page) | Spec line as printed | Code | Depth | Time | Score | Depth vs IPX7's 1 m |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Streamlight ProTac 2.0 | "IP67-rated; dust-tight and waterproof to 1 meter for 30 minutes" | Yes | 1 m | 30 min | 3 of 3 | 1.0 times |
| Nitecore P20iX | "IP68 (2 meters submersible)" | Yes | 2 m | Not stated | 2 of 3 | 2.0 times |
| Acebeam L18, spec list | "Fully submersible to 6.5 feet for up to 30 minutes" | IP68 | 6.5 ft = 1.98 m | 30 min | 3 of 3 | 1.98 times |
| Acebeam L18, description | "a 5-meter-deep submersible in water" | None | 5 m | Not stated | 1 of 3 | 5.0 times |
| Olight Warrior 3S, Seeker 4 Pro, Perun 3 | "IPX8" or "IP68" only | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | 1 of 3 | Not stated |
Two lessons come out of the arithmetic. First, the same page can disagree with itself: the Acebeam description claims 5 m, while its spec list states 1.98 m for 30 minutes, a 2.5-times gap (5 ÷ 1.98 = 2.53). When a page conflicts, plan around the lower, more specific figure. Second, Olight prints the code without a depth or time. Its manuals name the FL1 edition behind the figures instead, which tells you the method but not a depth. Until a maker states a depth, treat an IPX8 light as rated for drops you can recover, not as a light to leave underwater.
Olight Water Ratings Model by Model: What the Page and Manual Say
The seven Olight models below span five codes, from IPX6 to IP68. Four are IPX8 or IP68, one is IPX7, and two are rated for rain and spray only. Neither the product pages nor the English user manuals of the IPX8 and IP68 models print a depth or a time, so no Olight figure here should be read as a fixed soak.
This lookup table lists, model by model, the code on the product page, whether the page or the manual adds a depth and time, and the FL1 edition the manual names.
| Model | Code (product page) | IPX8 or IP68 depth and time on the page | Depth and time in the user manual | FL1 edition in the manual | Safe reading |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Warrior 3S | IPX8 | Not stated | Not stated; the spec block lists "IPX8" only | ANSI/NEMA FL1-2009 | Immersion rated; plan for recoverable drops in fresh water |
| Seeker 4 Pro | IPX8 | Not stated | Not stated; "IPX8" only | ANSI/PLATO FL 1-2019 | Immersion rated for the light; no rating listed for the holster |
| Perun 3 | IP68 | Not stated | Not stated; "IP68" only | ANSI/PLATO FL 1-2019 | Dust-tight plus immersion; depth unknown |
| Baton 4 | IPX8 | Not stated | Not stated; "IPX8" only | ANSI/PLATO FL 1-2019 | Immersion rated; depth unknown |
| Arkfeld Pro | IPX7 | Not needed; IEC 60529 fixes the IPX7 test | "IPX7" only | ANSI/PLATO FL 1-2019 | Brief dunks in fresh water; the manual rules out seawater |
| Oclip 2 Pro | IP66 | Not an immersion code | "Light: IP66 / Charging Dock: IPX6" | FL1 mark, no edition printed | Rain and spray only; the manual rules out immersion |
| Oclip Pro | IPX6 | Not an immersion code | "IPX6" only | ANSI/PLATO FL 1-2019 | Rain and spray only; the manual rules out immersion |
Three manual lines change how these codes read. The Oclip 2 manual says, "Do not immerse the product in water or other liquids, as it will damage the product." The Oclip Pro manual says, "Do not immerse the product in water or other liquid as it will damage the product." The Arkfeld Pro warning manual says, "Do not immerse the flashlight in seawater or other corrosive media as it will damage the product." So the Oclip 2 Pro, dust-tight as it is, stays out of kayaks and creeks, and the Arkfeld Pro's IPX7 applies to fresh water only.
Olight Warrior 3S: IPX8 with a magnetic tail and no open port
A light that might fall off a dock should have no port to leave open. The Olight Warrior 3S tactical flashlight ($119.95 regular price, September 2026, Black) is rated IPX8 and charges through its magnetic tail with an MCC3 cable, so there is no cover to forget. Olight rates it at 2,300 lumens, 23,000 candela and 300 m, at 176 g.
Its manual adds two wet-weather limits. The proximity sensor "may NOT work if it is blocked by water or dirt on the front lens," and "The magnetic tail is easy to attract iron debris." Wipe the lens and tail after rain. The manual also says, "Please lock out the switches if the flashlight is left unused, carried, or transported," and "DO NOT shine the light directly into human eyes." With no printed depth, tie it to you on the water rather than counting on the code after it sinks.
Olight Seeker 4 Pro: an IPX8 light whose holster lists no rating
Some lights split into parts with different ratings. The Olight Seeker 4 Pro flashlight ($139.99 regular price, September 2026, Matte Black CW) is rated IPX8, and Olight lists two ways to charge it: "USB-C charging with holster, or magnetic charging with an optional MCC3." The IPX8 line describes the light. Olight lists no water rating for the holster, so treat the holster as the dry-side part and charge there only when it is dry.
That split suits a light that lives by a back door or in a truck cab: the holster stays put, and the sealed light goes out into the weather. Olight lists Moon at 5 lumens for 15 days for that standby role. The limits are size and reach: at 205 g it is heavier than the Warrior 3S, with 260 m of reach against 300 m.
Olight Perun 3: the IP68 option when dust joins the water
Sand and drywall dust wear seals from the outside in, so dusty wet work calls for the 6 in the first position. The Olight Perun 3 ($89.99 regular price, September 2026, Black) carries the only IP68 code in the table above, and with its headband it doubles as one of Olight's headlamps. It charges by MCC3 magnetic cable, so there is no port to seal. Olight rates it at 3,000 lumens, 160 m and 150 g.
Two limits apply. Its reach is about half the Warrior 3S (160 m against 300 m, or 0.53 times). Its manual also cites FL 1-2019, which predates the dust testing PLATO added in FL 1-2025, so read its 6 as the IEC 60529 dust-tight numeral rather than an FL1 dust mark. The manual also says, "Caution: Do not stare at operating light source."
Is IPX8 Fully Waterproof, Compared With IPX7 and IP68?
No. IPX8 means a light kept out harmful water during continuous immersion under conditions its maker chose, harsher than IPX7's 1 meter. It does not cover jets, hot water, salt or diving, and IP68 is no more complete: its extra 6 is about dust. Without a printed depth and time, IPX8 or IP68 tells you only that the light beat IPX7.
Keystone notes that IPX8 "can mean that water can enter," provided it does so in a manner that "produces no harmful effects." The practical ranking across the three codes therefore depends on what is printed. An IP68 light printed at 2 m, such as the Nitecore P20iX above, is rated for twice IPX7's depth. An IPX8 or IP68 light with nothing printed is rated for an unknown margin above IPX7, which in planning terms is not much more than IPX7 itself. For the full breakdown of the 8 alone, see our guide to IPX8 meaning.
None of the three codes is a dive rating. For snorkeling or diving, use a dive light whose maker states a depth in meters.
Can I Use My Flashlight in the Rain?
Yes. Any flashlight rated IPX4 or higher is built for splashing water, and IPX7, IPX8 and IP68 lights go well beyond rain. The real rain risks are an open charging-port cover, charging while wet, water on a sensor lens and cold, damp storage, since IEC 60529 leaves condensation to product standards.
Rain sits low on the IEC ladder. The standard's clause list places splashing water at numeral 4, checked "with oscillating tube or spray nozzle," far below the immersion tests at 7 and 8. So the code is rarely the weak point in a storm. Habits are.
Tip: In rain, keep the Seeker 4 Pro's holster and any light's charging contacts dry, and wipe the Warrior 3S lens so its proximity sensor keeps working.
Wind-driven storms add one thing rain alone does not: spray from a hose or a pressure washer during cleanup. IEC 60529 lists jets as separate tests, numerals 5 and 6, and the Warrior 3S, Seeker 4 Pro and Perun 3 pages list neither IPX5 nor IPX6, so keep pressure washers off them.
What Happens If Water Gets Inside a Flashlight?
If water gets inside, it can short the switch or driver, corrode springs and contacts over days or weeks, and damage the lithium-ion battery. IEC 60529 judges only "harmful effects due to the ingress of water," not zero water, so a light that passed its rating can still hold a droplet. Fog behind the lens is the usual first sign.
Water conducts, and dirty or salty water conducts better. Olight's Warrior 3S manual shows the effect on a sealed light: "The tail switch may not work while immersed in sea water or other conductive media. Please try to keep it clean and dry." If water has reached the cell compartment, the drying routine in the IPX8 guide linked above applies: switch off, rinse closed, dry outside, then open and let everything air-dry before charging.
Safety note: After a leak, check the cell before it goes back on a charger. The U.S. Fire Administration's battery safety page lists the signs that mean you should stop using a lithium-ion battery: "an odor, change in color, too much heat, change in shape, leaking or odd noises."
How to Choose Between IPX7, IPX8 and IP68: A Four-Question Framework
Settle IPX7 vs IPX8 vs IP68 by testing the worst realistic exposure against IPX7's fixed envelope of 1 meter and 30 minutes. Ask four questions: can it go under, could it go deeper or stay longer than that envelope, will fine dust or sand reach it, and will anyone hose it? The answers map directly to IPX7, IPX8, IP67 or IP68.
- Can the light go underwater at all? If not, IPX4 is the floor, and IP66 is fine where dust matters.
- Could it stay under longer than 30 minutes or deeper than 1 m? If yes, move from IPX7 to IPX8, and prefer a maker who prints the depth.
- Will fine dust, sand or grit reach the threads? If yes, the first digit must be 6: IP67 instead of IPX7, IP68 instead of IPX8.
- Will it face hoses, jets or a pressure washer? If yes, look for IPX5 or IPX6 listed as well, because immersion codes do not cover jets.
This envelope check applies question 2 to six situations. The depths and retrieval times are assumed examples, not measurements; the ratio is the assumed depth divided by IPX7's 1 m.
| Situation (assumed worst case) | Depth | Time until you can grab it | Depth ÷ IPX7's 1 m | Inside IPX7's envelope? | Sand or dust? | Minimum code | Olight option and its limit |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Creek crossing, light slips from your hand | 0.5 m | Under 1 minute | 0.5 | Yes | No | IPX7 | Arkfeld Pro (IPX7); fresh water only |
| Night beach walk, dropped in a wave's wash | 0.3 m | Under 1 minute | 0.3 | Yes | Sand | IP67 | Perun 3 (IP68); rinse off salt and sand |
| Backyard pool, dropped in the deep end | 2.5 m | About 5 minutes | 2.5 | No, too deep | No | IPX8 printed to at least 2.5 m | No Olight page prints a depth; retrieve it at once and rinse off chlorine |
| Canoe on a lake, light rolls overboard | 3 m | Never, without a tether | 3.0 | No, too deep and too long | No | IPX8 printed to at least 3 m, plus a tether | Warrior 3S (IPX8) on a lanyard, so a drop stays recoverable |
| Windy desert camp | None | Not relevant | 0 | Not needed | Fine dust | IP6X | Perun 3 (IP68) or Oclip 2 Pro (IP66, never immersed) |
| Ice fishing, light slips through the hole | Unknown | Never | Unknown | No | No | No IP code covers the cold | The Perun 3 and Seeker 4 Pro manuals list a 0-40°C working temperature, so subfreezing air is outside the listed range |
Two rows fall outside what any Olight spec line promises. The pool and canoe cases sit 2.5 and 3 times deeper than IPX7's test, and no Olight page prints an IPX8 depth to cover them, so the tether does the real work. The ice row shows the other gap: a code rates water and dust, not temperature. For a lakeside trip, pair this with our camping flashlight setup. Near the ocean, the rating is only half the story; our saltwater flashlight guide covers corrosion.
Flood depth versus IPX7's 1 meter
Floods are where people overrate depth. The National Weather Service's Turn Around Don't Drown page says, "A mere 6 inches of fast-moving flood water can knock over an adult," that 12 inches carries away most cars, and that "It is NEVER safe to drive or walk into flood waters."
This table compares those NWS depths with the 1 m limit of IPX7 (1 inch = 0.0254 m).
| NWS depth | In meters | Share of IPX7's 1 m | IPX7 depth margin |
|---|---|---|---|
| 6 inches, knocks over an adult | 0.152 m | 15% | 1 ÷ 0.152 = 6.6 times |
| 12 inches, carries away most cars | 0.305 m | 31% | 3.3 times |
| 2 feet, carries away SUVs and trucks | 0.610 m | 61% | 1.6 times |
Any water deep enough to test IPX7's depth is water the NWS says never to enter. For storm and flood kits, depth is rarely the limit. Time, mud and dirty water are, so IPX7 or IPX8 with a fresh-water rinse afterward covers the realistic risk.
Warning: Never wade into flood water to recover a light, whatever its rating.
Common Misreadings of IP Ratings
Most rating mistakes come from treating a higher number, or an extra 6, as "more waterproof." Each digit names a different test, and the IPX8 and IP68 water terms change from maker to maker. This misconception table lists five common errors, the fact and its basis.
| Misreading | Fact | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| "IP68 goes deeper than IPX8." | The 8 in both codes names the same kind of test, set by agreement; only the dust digit differs, and depth is whatever each maker prints | IEC 60529 clause 14.2.8 title |
| "IP66 is close to waterproof." | IP66 covers jets, not immersion; the Oclip 2 manual says not to immerse it | IEC 60529 clause list; Olight Oclip 2 manual |
| "FL1 IPX8 always means the same soak time." | FL 1-2025 lets depth and duration vary; read the edition on the manual | PLATO FL 1-2025 summary |
| "A depth on the product description is the rating." | Descriptions and spec lists can conflict; trust the specific spec line | Acebeam L18 page (5 m vs 6.5 ft) |
| "The light's code covers its dock or holster." | Parts can carry different codes or none: the Oclip 2 lists "Light: IP66 / Charging Dock: IPX6," and the Seeker 4 Pro page lists no rating for its holster | Olight Oclip 2 manual; Seeker 4 Pro product page |
Your Waterproof Rating Action List
Use this list to settle IPX7 vs IPX8 vs IP68 for your next flashlight. Work from the worst exposure you expect, check what the maker actually printed, and read the manual's water warnings before the light goes near a lake, a beach or a flooded street.
- Check your worst case against IPX7's envelope of 1 m and 30 minutes, then ask about dust and jets.
- Pick IPX7 for rain and reachable drops, IPX8 for boats and docks, IP68 when sand or dust joins the water.
- Look for a printed depth and time next to IPX8 or IP68; if none is printed, plan for short, recoverable dunks.
- Check the FL1 edition in the manual, since FL 1-2025 changed how IPX8 is set.
- Read the manual's water lines; never immerse an Oclip, and keep IPX7 lights with seawater warnings out of salt.
- Keep charging contacts, holsters and port covers dry, and rinse after dirty or salty water.
FAQ
Changelog
- September 25, 2026: First published.






